The Wesley family moved into the Rectory at Epworth in the 1690’s. It was originally a timber framed building with a thatched roof. It was rebuilt in 1709 in brick and stone following a fire. Local stories state that the fire was started by disgruntled locals who disliked the rector, Samuel Wesley. However, there is no proof for this. The family were awoken by Mehetabel, one of the children who discovered the fire. The family escaped to the grounds to discover 5-year-old John was missing. He appeared at a window and was saved. After this event John was described as ‘a brand plucked from the burning’. The family had all survived the fire but lost their belongings. The family was made up of Samuel and Susanna Wesley who had 19 children during their lifetime. Unfortunately, 9 died during infancy. John Wesley went on to become a leader in the Methodist movement. His brother Charles was also involved in the Methodist movement but is known mostly for writing hymns. He wrote over 6000 in his lifetime including ‘Hark! The Herald Angels Sing’ and ‘Love Divine All Loves Excelling’.